Top Pointers to Keep in Mind while Buying Diamond Jewelry

Each and every woman dreams of owning beautiful diamond jewelry. The sparkle and timeless appeal of this category of jewelry sparks an interest like no other. Especially purchased on the occasions of a wedding, engagement, or upon the attainment of any particular milestone in life, these jewels are surely their owner’s pride. Read on for some important considerations to remember before buying diamond jewelry.

diamond jewelry

Before shopping for diamonds, you need to understand the concept of 4 Cs: Clarity, Color, Cut, and Carat.


The highest quality of diamond is colorless. The ones that are colored in different hues, or fancy diamonds as they are referred to by experts dealing with these precious gemstones, form a separate category. The bright yellows, blues, and pinks are more expensive than their colorless cousins. Do know that the color of diamonds is mostly graded by experienced professionals certified by GIA, IGI, or other similar gem certification organizations. This grading takes place on a scale of D to Z. The stones are held loose against a stark white surface for the purpose of grading.

  • Grades D-F are graded as colorless.

  • Grades G-J are graded as near-colorless.

  • Grades K-M are referred to as faint yellow.

  • Grades N-R are termed as very light yellow.

  • Grades S-Z are graded as light yellow.

For buying white diamond jewellery, you will probably be advised to look for those studded with diamonds graded in the D-I range.

Know the Benefits of Buying Diamond Jewelry Online


Clarity refers to the internal and external visual attributes of a diamond. Oft-referred to as blemishes or inclusions, clarity has to be graded under 10-power (10x) magnification. However, there are certain clarity characteristics belonging to lower grades that are visible under the naked eye. In general, these irregularities may include fissures, tiny crystals, bubbles, or other imperfections. The grades are:

  • FL — IF: Flawless to Internally Flawless. This grade is mostly attained by the rarest stones that have no blemishes or inclusions, even under 10x magnification. They are exceptionally expensive.

  • VVS1 — VVS2: Very, Very Slightly Included. These irregularities, blemishes and/ or inclusions can be seen with great difficulty under magnification.

  • VS1 — VS2: Very Slightly Included. The inclusions are difficult to be observed under magnification, they are minor but visible under magnification.

  • SI1 – SI2: Inclusions are visible only under 10 x magnifications.

  • I1- 13: Included. In this grade, the inclusions can be seen under the naked eye.

It is important to note that while diamond jewellery having stones with lower grades may be less expensive, they do not make for the prettiest pieces.

diamond jewelry


The cut of a diamond is what gives it fire and scintillation. A properly cut diamond will explode and sparkle with prismatic color. This C actually boils down to the ways in which light enters and leaves diamond jewellery.


Carat weight is nothing but the unit of measurement of weight. 1 carat is equivalent to one-fifth of a gram (.20g). It has nothing to do with the other attributes of jewellery in diamonds, and is used for determining weight and size only. It plays an important role in determining how much you have to pay for the diamond jewelry of your choice.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *