4CS Of Diamond – Which One is The Most Important?

4CS Of Diamond - What is The Most Important of 4 CS - DazzlingRock

Precious gemstones like diamonds are alluring for a reason – they grab your attention with their extraordinary shine and shimmering radiance. It is no surprise that diamonds have evolved to become the most sought-after jewels around the globe. After all, diamond jewelry has a character of its own.

It is, however, important to know how to choose the right diamond. This is an essential step in your jewelry buying process. Selecting a substandard quality of diamond, or not having complete information about the diamonds used in a piece of jewelry, will lead to dissatisfaction for you as a customer.

On that note, we have listed 4CS can help you acertain the quality of a diamond. We will also discuss which of these 4CS is most important and why. Read on!

How to Choose a Diamond Using the 4Cs

The universally accepted standard for gauging the quality of this stone is the 4C formula. The 4Cs of a diamond determine its distinction and correspondingly, its price, too.

Diamond quality is an important factor to consider while purchasing diamond earrings or diamond engagement rings. The quality of diamonds can be graded on four factors or 4Cs. These are the cut, clarity, color, and carat weight of the diamond. It is very important to know the characteristics of these precious stones while you are purchasing them.

When diamonds were introduced in the mid-20th century, for the very first time the world had a universal standard to assess the quality of the diamonds. The 4Cs became an important tool to understand why you would choose one diamonds over another.

This standard of assessment was very important, as it was very difficult to judge the differences in quality between two such precious stones with the naked eye. The question that often comes to the minds of people is, which is the most important factor to assess the quality of a diamond.

Many people find it confusing to determine the most important factor out the 4Cs. Check out here which is the most important C for diamonds.


Clarity generally refers to the presence of identifying marks on the surface (blemishes) and inside (inclusion) the diamond. Considering the tremendous amount of pressure used to create diamonds naturally, it is not unnatural to have flaws. The two types of flaws generally include blemishes and inclusions.

The surface flaws are known as blemishes while internal flaws are called inclusions. It is natural for diamonds to have both blemishes and inclusions at the same time. Blemishes may include chips, scratches, and pits. Many times blemishes may occur due to cutting. Inclusions generally include cracks, air bubbles, and non-diamond materials inside the diamond. When it comes to grading diamonds, all flaws are called inclusions.

The scale generally ranges from flawless to heavily included:

  1. F (flawless inside and out)
  2. IF (internally flawless, it means there may be blemishes on the surface but not inside the diamond)
  3. VVS1 and VVS2 (very, very slightly included, 2 levels)
  4. VS1 and VS2 (very slightly included, 2 levels)
  5. SI1 and SI2 (slightly included, 2levels)
  6. I1, I2, and I3 (included, 3levels)

The number and size of the inclusions generally have a large effect on the beauty, brilliance, and fire of the diamond.


Diamond color usually refers to the lack of color in a diamond. When it comes to diamond color, the lesser the visible color, the higher is the grade of the diamond.

It can easily be said that the whiter the diamond, the greater its value. The degree of the color of these precious stones is tested over certain levels that generally range from colorless (D) to significantly colored (Z).

Diamonds that have a low rating on the scale have a mucky yellowish or brownish color. Diamonds that are from D to H on the scale are whiter while from grade I some yellow color will be visible.

Generally, the color of the diamond is a result of its composition and so the color does not change over time. A colorless diamond allows more light to pass through than a colored diamond, and thus emit more sparkle and brilliance.


Carat is the unit of measurement used to weigh diamonds.

One carat of diamond generally equals 200 milligrams or 1/5 of a gram (0.2 grams). The term carat comes from the pod of the carob tree, a tree that is located in tropical areas.


The way a diamond is polished and cut affects its brilliance, sparkle and the fire of the stone. When a diamond is cut properly, it allows light to reflect and refract internally and then emit from the top causing a dazzling effect.

If you wish to have unique diamond rings that have amazing sparkle, you have to look for diamonds that are cut with precision. When a diamond is not cut properly, it will emit light through the sides and bottom and not through the top.

This will result in a duller looking diamond, one that has less fire and sparkle. A diamond is known for its brilliance, sparkle, and fire. A proper symmetric cut along with accurate polish can result in more of this dazzling effect.


Irrespective of its carat weight, color, and clarity, if the fire and brilliance are absent, then the diamond is not that valuable.

A diamond’s cut is always difficult to quantify than its color, clarity and carat weight. Cuts vary from a diamond to diamond and how cutters choose to shape, facet and polish the diamond.

Experts consider cut to be the most important out of the 4Cs because the brilliance and fire of a diamond depend greatly on its cut.

A perfectly cut stone will allow you to compromise on the other factors but still, have great brilliance and sparkle. When a diamond is accurately cut, it will hide blemishes and will cause the diamond to pop and sparkle brilliantly.

If a diamond is not cut properly, it will lack the fire and brilliance to a great extent.

So, if you are looking for unique diamond rings or a mesmerizing pair of earrings, do not forget to look at the sparkle of the diamonds. The sparkle, the brilliance and the fire of diamond are what makes it valuable.

So whether you are looking to purchase engagement rings or a diamond promise rings for your sweetheart, or a nice necklace do not forget to pay attention to its brilliance and sparkle.

Now that you know how to gauge the quality of a diamond, how to choose the right diamonds, and which of the 4Cs is most important, you have all the information you need to start shopping!

Dazzling Rock offers the most awe-inspiring selection of high-quality diamond jewelry. Our versatile diamond rings, earrings, necklaces, wraps, bracelets, pendants, and bridal sets are adorned with diamonds that never fail to amaze. What’s more, you can find all the necessary information about the diamonds used in our jewelry products and compare them with each other based on the 4Cs.

Discover our collection today!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *